Election Information

Elections in 2020

  • Presidential Nomination Primary (PNP), March 3
  • Primary Election, August 11
  • General Election, November 3

Woodland polling place has moved to a larger space in Deephaven Court to enable safe social distancing on Election Day. Please go to 18279 Minnetonka Blvd., Suite F, in Deephaven for the 2020 Primary and General Elections. Polls will be open 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Thank you to Linvill Properties for their generous support of our elections!

Election Judges. Elections cannot be held without the invaluable contributions of our local election judges. If you are interested in helping, please complete an Election Judge Application - 2020 and email it to the City Clerk as soon as possible.

Safety at the Polls is vital this year. Please wear a face covering and follow CDC guidelines for voters (scroll down once you get to the CDC page).


Voting from Home is more important than ever this year due to COVID-19. Go to MNVotes.org! Request an absentee mail ballot for the upcoming General Election now. We encourage everyone to vote absentee by mail instead of in person for your safety and the safety of our election judges. #VoteAtHomeMN tinyurl.com/VoteAtHomeMN

Watch this great video on how to vote by mail.

And follow these easy steps to apply online for an absentee ballot:

  1. Go to www.mnvotes.org
  2. Click on "OTHER WAYS TO VOTE"
  3. Click on "Vote early by mail"
  4. Click on the green rectangle that says "Go to online absentee application"
  5. Enter your County (Hennepin), City, State & Zip Code (choose your post office City, Wayzata*), and Election (11/03/20 General Election)
  6. This brings you to a screen where you need to fill in your name, identification number, address, and mailing address (if different) for your ballot
  7. Hit submit, and your ballot will be mailed to you. Carefully follow the instructions provided with the ballot, and mail it back to Hennepin County using the envelope provided.

* Our post office city is different than our precinct city. Select Wayzata, MN 55391, and your ballot will be correctly selected for your precinct (Woodland) by your street address.

Be patient! We're glad you're so eager, but be patient. The first mailing of ballots is going out on September 25th. Hennepin County is mailing their highest volume ever - 300,000 ballots! Way to go MN! Check the status of your ballot anytime online.

Run by the Office of the Secretary of State, MNVotes.org serves as a voter information portal and provides information on how and where to vote in any upcoming election. You may register to vote, sign up online to vote by mail and check on your voter registration or ballot status. It is also where to update voter registration information such as address or name changes. Everything related to voting in Minnesota can be done through MNVotes.org.

In-Person Absentee Voting

Early voting is available at City Hall for the 2020 General Election, September 18 through November 2. For safety during COVID-19, we encourage voting by mail instead of in person. Deephaven City Hall is located at 20225 Cottagewood Road, Deephaven. It serves Deephaven, Greenwood and Woodland. Please have your Minnesota driver's licence and social security number ready and allow about 20 minutes to complete the voting process. Hours for in-person absentee voting are M-F 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.; Saturday, October 31, 10 a.m. - 3 p.m.; and Monday, November 2, 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.


To be eligible to vote in Minnesota, you must be

  • at least 18 years old.
  • a citizen of the United States.
  • a resident of Minnesota for 20 days preceding the Election Day.

To register to vote, go to the Secretary of State website and follow the step-by-step process. By signing and dating the application, you are swearing that you are eligible to vote. The application may be submitted anytime except during the 20 days immediately preceding any election. We recommend registering at least 30 days prior to an election.

In addition to the link above, the Voter Registration Application may be obtained by:

  • Visiting Deephaven City Hall, located at 20225 Cottagewood Road.
  • Calling City Hall at 952-474-4755 and request that a Voter Registration Application be mailed to you.
  • Registering to vote when you apply or renew your driver's license.
  • Registering to vote online at MNvotes.org.

To check if you are registered to vote, go to the Voter Registration Lookup.

Completed Voter Registration Applications (paper forms) should be returned to either:

  • City of Woodland, 20225 Cottagewood Road, Deephaven, MN 55331
  • Hennepin County Elections, Hennepin County Government Center, 300 South 6th Street, MC 012, Minneapolis, MN 55487-0012


Any previously registered voter who has had a name or address change since the last election must re-register to vote. A change of name or address requires a new registration and a new signature on the Voter Registration Application. Follow this link to re-register. Remember, if you have moved, you must vote in your new precinct, which you can locate using the Polling Place Finder. Do not return to your old precinct to vote.


A registration is cancelled if the voter:

  • Has been convicted of a felony without having his/her/their civil rights restored.
  • Is under guardianship of another person.
  • Has been found by a court to be legally incompetent to vote.
  • Is not a citizen of the United States.
  • Has not voted for more than four years.

Identification - Proofs of Residence

Everyone registering on Election Day must provide proof of residence. Only proofs authorized by law may be used and they are listed below. A voter is allowed to leave and come back in order to get what they need to register. (M.S.201.061;M.R.8200.5100)

  • Valid Minnesota driver’s license, Minnesota learner’s permit or Minnesota ID card with the current residence listed.
  • The yellow receipt for a Minnesota driver’s license, learner’s permit or ID card.
  • Tribal ID card with name, current address, signature, and picture issued by the tribal government of a tribe recognized by the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Tribal band members are not required to live on an Indian reservation in order to use a tribal identification card to prove residence.

OR a combination these documents:

Approved Photo IDs (choose one)

  • Driver's license, state ID or learner’s permit issued by any state
  • United States passport
  • United States Military or Veteran ID
  • Tribal ID with the name, signature and photo of the voter
  • Minnesota university, college, or technical college ID
  • Minnesota high school ID

Approved Documents (choose one) with current residence listed

  • Residential lease or rental agreement (must be valid through Election Day)
  • Current student fee statement
  • An invoice or account statement, due or dated within 30 days of election, listing the current residence (phone, cable, internet, garbage, utilities, credit card or rent/mortgage)

Woodland City Election

In conjunction with the State General Election, the City of Woodland will hold its municipal election November 3, 2020. Woodland voters will elect a Mayor and two Council Members.

Terms for these Council positions are four years beginning at the first meeting in January, 2021 and ending December 31, 2024. Residents interested in running for office in Woodland must file an Affidavit of Candidacy and pay a $2 filing fee with the City during the filing period: July 28 to Aug. 11, 2020. The deadline for withdrawal from the race is Aug. 13, 2020.

To file for office, an individual must be:

  • An eligible voter.
  • 21 years of age or more.
  • A Woodland resident for 30 days before the general election.

Below are the forms and materials that a Woodland candidate will need:

Affidavit of Candidacy
Minnesota Campaign Manual
Candidate Information Form (optional, provides bio for publication)
Campaign Financial Report
Campaign Financial Certification